Limits, Powerlifting, Self-Esteem

RAW Learning …

This  past weekend  I competed  in the 100% RAW American Challenge National  Championships in Zion Crossroads, Virginia.

I took First Place in squat, bench and deadlift for my weight and age group.  The winning squat was 80 lbs, bench, 72 lbs and deadlift  was 185 lbs. I weighed in at 113 lbs.

Although I won I learned a lot about the technical aspects of powerlifting.  I made all my lifts but three were not counted because of technical mistakes.  I can point to why I made the mistakes on the discounted lift. On every lift that didn’t count the mistake took place directly after a split second of doubt entered my mind. It was my first full competition preforming all three lifts: squat, bench and deadlift.  It takes a lot out of you and I probably was not 100% mentally prepared.

Lay your hands on him; remember the battle—you will not do it again! ! ~Job 41:8

I’ve learned there is no room for any self-doubt.  Next time I’m going to have to go into competition KNOWING I can do the lift and stop thinking about it while preforming it. Also, I have to work a harder on building strength and stamina.

I am glad  I made the mistakes that I did (although not in the  moment) because I learned a lot about  what  I  have to work on and therefore improve myself. I am grateful to God who put me on this path. I had no idea that I would be in this place a year and a half ago. Thank you to my husband, Ryan, for driving  me to and from competitions, thank you to all my coaches who are incredible, and to all my teammates  who help motivate and encourage  me.

Leave a Reply

