#God

Being a Royal Dork

Recently I’ve felt the need to slow down and reset. It’s been insanely busy and a very emotional few weeks. My husband has been working crazy long hours since he’ been working three jobs, a dear family friend passed away way too soon, and one of my best friends has a spouse who ended up in the hospital on Easter Sunday from complications from alcoholism. I feel that everyone close to me is just so exhausted, including me! Exhausted mentally and physically by this fallen world…

 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people. ~Ephesians 6:14-18

I hardly ever see Ryan these days because he’s always working, and God bless him, when he’s home he tries his hardest to be a part of the family. I end up telling him it’s ok to be tired and to go to bed.  He’s very happy to do so. At the moment, I’ve been having seizure auras. I may be coming down with something.

This should be all we ever need….

I feel the need to sit at the feet of Jesus and take a deep breath. It’s been a long rough year already.

I’m so looking forward to a visit from Jennifer Deschanel next week. We plan to build a fire pit in my backyard and put in some plantings. I think that’s just what the doctor ordered. It’s so easy to get caught up in this world. I indeed felt every thing around me was swallowing me up until my Pastor’s wife called me a DORK during the last women’s group. Yes… I’m a dork a daughter of a righteous king.

In the women’s group we are doing a book study on Girls With Swords by Lisa Bevere. I’ll probably do a full review of the book when I’ve read the entire thing. It’s a wonderful book for women of faith. I highly suggest you check it out. It’s available on amazon.

Anyway back to me being a dork…

It’s so easy to lose sight of who we are and where we came from. I think it is vital in keeping one’s mental and physical well-being in balance to never forget this fact. In Girls With Swords the author says we’re transients, passing through this earth with our roots in heaven. She says we should “choose to live as a stranger in this land. ” Lisa Bevere goes on to say this means you should live with the understanding that “we are just passing through this world.” Our life comes from the Lord, and therefore we are rooted in Him.

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God~ Colossians 3:2-3

Don’t let your roots grow deep in this world, but don’t let life get so overwhelming that we forget to check in with Jesus.  Recall what matters to us. Laugh when called a dork; remember those parted with smiles and laughter knowing we will see them again; pray for the ones who need strength, and look forward to times with those closest to us.  If we don’t wear ‘s God armor Satan will attack us by striking at our hopes, our passions, our energy and want to be quiet and calm.  We will forget what matters and worse, forget to care for ourselves. When times are rough and emotions rougher, that’s when we need to just sit a Jesus’ feet and be still. From there we can reset our minds and bodies and be able to live out His purpose for us in life, without life…. getting in the way.

We should look to the Lord and give out into the world what we receive from Him.

 

Leave a Reply

