Self-Esteem

When Life Gives You Potatoes…

“I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”~ Psalm 139:14

I’ve thought long and hard about what my first blog should be. I’m going to tell you something I wish I’d discovered long ago: accept the fact that there are potatoes you’re never going to be able to peel.

russet-potatoes-cut
The villain of our story. Nasty little suckers.

More importantly, don’t let the fear of other people make you feel self-conscious of the fact that you can’t peel a potato. For a few years I went to private school until third grade when I started public education.  When I got home from my first day my mother asked me how it went. I told her great, I met some really nice kids and they seem to like me a lot. Her reply? She said, “They only like you because they feel sorry for you.”

Now, please don’t think I’m bashing my mother. Both my parents did all they could to help me. My prognosis as a baby wasn’t very promising. When I was adopted, doctors said I’d never walk or talk. They told my parents to enjoy me at home, and when I got too big to handle to put me in a home. After numerous different doctors came and went, my parents finally found one who put me on a 14 hour a day, six day a week physical and mental therapy program. Thanks to my parents and their devotion to finding me quality care, I’m walking, talking, have two college degrees and a family of my own.

The point I’m making is I’ve a very loving mother; she was just fearful that kids would make fun of me. She didn’t realize what she said out of her own fear was damaging to me. From that point on I had major trust issues and was embarrassed of who I was. Embarrassed of the way I talked and of my afflicted left side. Up to that point in time, the first six years of my life was surrounded by volunteers coming and going all helping me to become a better person and all of whom thought I was the best thing since sliced bread.

That first day of third grade changed me forever…  until recently.

Powerlifting shows me I have a power within me power that some people are afraid to tap into. Power that shows the world I’m not to be pitied. I love my mother with all my heart, but wish she’d have put her fear of what could happen to me aside and focused on teaching me how uniquely wonderful I was, and how much I had to offer.

Today I am getting over my trust issues because I’ve found something within that gives me self confidence. I’m ok that I will never be able to peel a potato.  My husband, Ryan, is  a  wonderful  peeler.

smashed-potato
Every problem has a solution made better with garlic and butter.

So I the lesson of the day is first, don’t let the fears your loved have shape how you feel and see yourself and, second, accept the fact you can’t peel a potato. It has no influence on what kind of person you are. Smash them with some garlic instead. Life is tastier when your outlook is better.

Every problem has a solution.

4 thoughts on “When Life Gives You Potatoes…”

  1. OMG! I love this!
    You are such an amazing and inspiring young woman💜
    Proud to know you, proud to call you family and proud to love you 💜💜💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

